Cashew Milk

When I first tried Whole30 I could not imagine coffee without my cream and Splenda. I tried all the coconut milk/oil/butter options and found they were just too oily for me.  I tried commercially prepared nut milks but they all contained too many additives. So, I started making my own.  My favorite has got to be cashew.  It is creamy, tasty and so good for you!

The ingredients:

  

  • 1 1/2 Cups raw cashews
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 2 dates
  • Pinch of cinnamon

In a large bowl soak your cashews, dates and vanilla beans in cool water overnight. (I would suggest a minimum of 4 hours for your soak).

  

After soaking, rinse your nuts, vanilla and dates well. Make sure to take the pits out of your dates!

Transfer all items to your food processor. (After several messy attempts of trying to scrape the vanilla pods I have started throwing the entire thing in… I can’t taste a difference!). Add 2 cups of cool filtered water and process until you have a smooth, almost cake like batter consistency.

Time to strain the first batch of milk!  I use a chinois (a heavy duty strainer that we found on Amazon) but you can use a cheesecloth or fine mesh strainer…. Whatever you have!

  
  
After you have strained all of the milk, return your cashew “pulp” back to your food processor and add 1 more cup of fresh filtered water.  Repeat.

Add a sprinkle of cinnamon to your milk and give it a stir.  Store your milk in a glass container in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.  Enjoy!

  

Leave a Reply

